Best Banana Bread Ever

Tonight I made the best banana bread ever.  This recipe holds a place near and dear in my heart because it is one of the first baking recipes that I ever started making for myself; passed down from my mom who got it from somewhere that I don’t know.  I grew up watching her make it, with the original in her hand-written recipe book that she started a bajillion years ago.

What I love about this recipe is how versatile it is, I’ve substituted many of the ingredients and made other bread styles with this as the base and it always turns out well.  I’ve discovered (due to the fact that when I was younger I didn’t own a loaf pan) that I prefer this tasty treat to be made in a square 9″x9″ pan – which is why the not-so-good picture above has a chunk, versus a slice of B bread.  It is a simple, quick recipe and a great way to use up old bananas, the more rotten, the better!

I guess with this recipe I’m a bit of a purist, no nuts, no chocolate chips, just the bread, usually topped with butter, or if you’re crazy like me some sharp aged cheese…or cream cheese…or peanut butter!

The Not So Scientific Method

This will make somewhere around 12-16 servings depending on how big you cut the pieces.  Been known to eat a whole lot in one day.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) softened butter (salted, unsalted I use whatever I have)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • A dash of salt if you use unsalted butter
  • 2 cups all purpose flour – you can also do 1 cup whole wheat and 1 cup AP
  • 2 nasty ol’ bananas, the best is if they are bubbling because they are starting to ferment!
  • 1/2 cup of some dairy product, I’ve used sour cream, yogurt, milk, buttermilk, whey, almond milk, it all seems to work
  • You can optionally add a teaspoon of vanilla and/or some cinnamon, but the recipe is great without as well

 APPARATUS

Large mixing bowl (3-4 quartish), medium bowl, measuring cups/spoons, fork, spatula, 9″x9″ pan (or loaf pan), sifter, and an oven.

METHOD

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees F
  2. In the large mixing bowl cream the butter and sugar until combined and fluffy
  3. Mix the egg into the butter-sugar goo, then mix in the baking soda and salt (if necessary)
  4. In the medium bowl, crush 2 bananas with a fork to make more goo and then mix in the yogurt/sour cream/whey/milk/whatever
  5. Alternate adding the flour and the banana mixture to the butter-sugar goo (sift the flour if you can).  The batter should be moist, so if it seems too thick and dry you can always add more dairy product, it’s pretty forgiving either way
  6. Grease baking dish and scoop batter in, making sure it is evenly distributed
  7. Bake, the amount of baking time will differ if you use a 9″x9″ pan versus a loaf pan versus cupcake tins.  Allot 45-50 minutes for a loaf pan 30-35 minutes for a square pan, and muffins will probably be around 25+ minutes.  I don’t time it anymore, just wait for the delicious smell and stick a toothpick/fork to test.
  8. Eat ravenously and feel a little guilty after consuming the whole thing in one sitting, enjoy!
Leave a Reply

